KHAAAAAAN-a

In what relatively little research I’ve done, the advice I keep hearing over and over again is “Learn Japanese in Japanese.” As in, “Romaji only hurts you.”

So now, I must start my adventure in to the world of kanas. It looks like the best way to go is start with hiragana (ひらがな). I suppose I need to get used to that.

I’m noticing that I’m learning the hiragana in a strange way. For example, the hiragana for hiragana. If you were to ask me what ひ was, I’d know it was “hi” because it’s the beginning of the word hiragana. The same with words like お茶. I know recognize that as “o-cha,” and know I know “o”!

Fascinating.

 

Edit: Less than an hour later, and I realized I couldn’t remember a single kana for the word hiragana. I guess it’s back to rote for me.

Edit 2: Just got the vowels down pat through rote. I guess that’s the way to go. Why over complicate things!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

